Sunday, March 21, 2004



Sunday Herald
Sunday Spotlight
Foreign Panorama
Fine Arts & Culture

Today's Edition
Front Page


Edit Page
Economy & Business
Metro Life - Mon
DH Avenues
Metro Life - Thurs
Science & Technology
DH Education
Open Sesame
DH Realty
Metro Life - Sat
Sunday Herald
Sunday Spotlight 
Foreign Panorama
Fine Arts/Culture


International School

FLOWERS to Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Pune, Kolkata, India Wide

Shaadi Matrimonials


Book Reviews
Movie Reviews
Art Reviews


Weekly Horoscope
Year's Horoscope

Previous Editions

Yesterday's Edition


DH Cartoon
Sunday Soliloquies
DH Classifieds
About Us

Advertisement Details
Subscribe to Deccan Herald

Send your Suggestions / Queries about the Website to the

For enquiries on advertisements & responses : 
Contact Us

Other Headlines

Bowling woes dog Ganguly
Onus on Indians to seize the moment
Its great fun playing Pak, says Yuvraj
Sami touched pace high at Peshawar
We cant take India lightly, says Inzamam
Goodwill takes a backseat as race hots up
The name is Hameed...
Akhtar simply hated to lose, says coach
Indians need to raise their standard in Lahore
Australia win series
Vishwanath to SBMs rescue
Styris, Oram Cairns flay SA attack
Islamabad-bound athletes named
Schumacher takes pole
Bhupathi-Mirnyi duo makes exit
Harmison plots Windies downfall
Deccan Herald Sports Full Story

Islamabad-bound athletes named

National record holder Amritpal Singh will spearhead a 64-member Indian athletic contingent at the ninth SAF Games starting in Islamabad on March 29.

The list, released by the Amateur Athletic Federation of India today, has 38 men and 26 women participants who would be accompanied by 12 officials.

Men: 100M: Piyush Kumar, Vilas Nilgund; 200M: Piyush, Vilas; 400M: P Shankar, K Suresh; 800M : Ghamanda Ram, K S Ashok; 1500M: Ghamanda Ram, Sunil Kumar; 5000M: Sunil Kumar, Mukesh Kumar; 110M hurdles: Krishna Mohan, E Muthuswamy; 400M hurdles: Kuldev Singh, B Prasad Reddy; 3000M Steeplechase: Ranjan Kumar Jha, Ram Bahadur; Long jump: Amrit Pal Singh, Maha Singh; Triple jump: Amarjeet Singh, Saintson K C; High jump: Omveer Singh, Balraj Singh; Shot put: Ranvijay Singh, Kulwinder Singh; Discus: Hridyanand Singh, Sukhbir Singh; Hammer: Madhu Kumar, Nirbhay Singh; Javelin: Mukesh Kumar Mehra, Lijesh Kumar, Jagdish Kumar; 4x100M: Piyush Kumar, Vilas Nilgund, Jaychandran H, Sandeep Sarkaria, Nagraj, Arshad Hussain; 4x400M: P Shankar, K Suresh, Anil Kumar Rohil, Sreejith P S, T G Ajesh, Amish Pottan; Marathon: K C Ramu, Shivdan Singh.

Women: 100M: Poonam Tomar, Greeshma K M; 200M: Poonam Tomar, K Rama Devi; 400M: S Geetha, Chitra K Soman; 800M: Madhuri A Singh, Sunita; 1500M: Preeja Sridharan, Hemalata B; 100 hurdles: Soma Biswas, K N Priya; Long jump: Jetty C Joseph, Pooja Ahlawat; High jump: M Sangeetha, Sahana Kumari; Shot put: N. Latha, Chaitali Paul; Discus: Seema Antil, Krishna Poonia; Javelin: Gurmeet Kaur, Suman Devi; 4x100M: Poonam Tomar, Greeshma K M, K N Priya, Rakhi Saha, K Rama Devi, Aruna Kumari; 4x400M: S Geetha, Chitra K Soman, Pinki Parmanik, Sagardeep Kaur; Kalpana Reddy, Soma Biswas.

Officials: J S Saini (chief coach), Parminder Singh, Suresh K Saini, Kamal Ali, Parveer Singh, S S Pannu, Rajinder Singh Jagbir Singh, Vladimir Potrebenko. Doctor: Jawahar Lal Jain, Aliksei Haspadaryk (masseur) and Nasiruddin (masseur).

Copyright 2004, The Printers (Mysore) Private Ltd., 75, M.G. Road, Post Box No 5331, Bangalore - 560001
Tel: +91 (80) 25880000 Fax No. +91 (80) 25880523